BBC journalist, Kiki Mordi, and politician, Debo Ogundoyin have been nominated for the ‘Young Persons of the Year’ category of 2019 edition of The Future Awards Africa (TFAA).

TFAA which “celebrates Africans who represent outstanding young talents, innovators, entrepreneurs, and community advocates breaking boundaries in various industries” recently announced its 2019 nominees.

The organizers, on Friday put up Ogundoyin, alongside Mordi, Burna Boy and Kenneth Udekwe, a 32-year-old polyglot, who offers medical services to pregnant women in rural regions across Nigeria.

Ogundoyin currently doubles as the speaker of the Oyo state house of assembly.

Also nominated in the additional category are Israel Adesanya, a UFC Middleweight Champion; and Khadijah Adamu, an activist renowned for instigating the #TheNigerianMeTooMovement alongside Damilola Marcus to bring sexual abuse perpetrators to book.

Read Also: I Hope I Never See My Parents Again- Kemi Olunloyo

According to the Central Working Committee (CWC), the award is bestowed on “any young person who has become a force for change, an individual who has demonstrated creativity, intuition, innovation, initiative and always ready to lead change in his/her industry.”

Speaking on the nomination, the CEO of the future project, Bukola Adebakin said: “The ‘Young Person of the Year’ award promotes the shared values of creativity, social good, and innovation, celebrating a new class of innovators, philanthropists, activists, entertainers, and technocrats in entertainment, professional service, agriculture, business, sports, and more.”

TFAA has been called the ‘Nobel Prize for Young Africans’, and its 2019 edition is billed to hold on November 24, at the Balmoral Centre, Federal Palace Hotel, Lagos.

Kiki Mordi became more popular after she led a team of investigative reporters to uncover sexual harassment of female students by lecturers at the University of Lagos (UNILAG)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.