The 8th Assembly of the Federal Republic of Nigeria resumed today and wasted no time choosing its leaders. President Muhammadu Buhari on Monday met with the representatives ahead of their resumption but the federal lawmakers emerged from the meeting singing different tunes. It however seems that the meeting yielded  good results as the crisis in the House of Representatives appears to have been nipped in the bud with the emergence of Mr. Femi Gbajabiamila, as the Majority Leader of the House.

The Speaker, Yakubu Dogara who announced the list of principal officers at the end of plenary, also said that Rep. Baba Jibrin is the Deputy Leader, Rep. Alhassan Dogowa emerged as the Chief Whip while Rep Pally Iriase is the Deputy Chief Whip.

The position of Minority Leader went to Rep. Leo Ogor, the Deputy Minority Leader, Chukwuma Onyema, Binta Bello, Deputy Minority Whip and Yakubu Umaru, Minority Whip.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.